Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Comma separated to rows based on field Post 302797435 by Yoda on Monday 22nd of April 2013 02:34:17 PM
Old 04-22-2013
An awk solution:
Code:
awk '{ n=split($NF,A,","); while (++i<=n) { print $1, A[i] } i=0 }' file

This User Gave Thanks to Yoda For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Its PERL + Comma separated seventh field

Hi Friends, I'm working on a perl script, which seems to be simpler. But I'm very new to PERL scripting. I have a comma separated data file, from which I need to extract only the seventh field data out of available twenty fields to an array using perl. Any help would be much appreciated. ... (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: ganapati
17 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to format file into comma separated field

Guys, Need you help, i have a a file content that look like this. Nokia 3330 <spaces><spaces><more spaces>+76451883874 Nokia 3610 +87467361615 so on and so forth, - there are so many spaces in between. - e.g.... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: shtobias
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sum the rows number based on first field string value

Hi, I have a file like this one h1 4.70650E-04 4.70650E-04 4.70650E-04 h2 1.92912E-04 1.92912E-04 1.92912E-04 h3A 3.10160E-11 2.94562E-11 2.78458E-11 h4 0.00000E+00 0.00000E+00 0.00000E+00 h1 1.18164E-12 2.74150E-12 4.35187E-12 h1 7.60813E-01 7.60813E-01 7.60813E-01... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: f_o_555
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Inserting string in between field in comma separated file

Hello Mates, I have one txt file having commo seperated values. I have to insert string "FALSE" in 2nd field from the end. E.G SE18 6RN,,,,5439070,1786840,,1000002148671600,123434 Out put should be: SE18 6RN,,,,5439070,1786840,FALSE,1000002148671600,123434 Can some one help me to... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: krsnadasa