Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Removal of extra spaces in *.log files to allow extraction of frequencies Post 302797075 by hanson44 on Sunday 21st of April 2013 09:40:14 PM
Old 04-21-2013
You can put these two lines in any shell script, and it will correct the formatting:
Code:
$ cat atoms.sh
sed -e "s/ Atom  AN/Atom AN/" -e "s/^     /   /" atoms.txt > /tmp/temp.x
mv /tmp/temp.x atoms.txt

I changed the first substitution a little to ensure that the correction is only applied once. So if the log file gets corrected once, and then new text is appended to the end, the previously corrected section will not get "corrected again".

Are you sure there are no other lines that start with five blanks? As the script is right now, any line that starts with five blanks will be switched to start with three blanks.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

To remove the extra spaces in unix

Hi... I am quite new to Unix and would like an issue to be resolved. I have a file in the format below; 4,Reclaim,ECXTEST02,abc123,Harry Potter,5432 6730 0327 5469,0603,,MC,,1200,EUR,sho-001,,1,,,abc123,1223 I would like my output to be as follows; 4,Reclaim,ECXTEST02,abc123,Harry... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sho
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to remove extra spaces from a string??

Hi, I have a string like this and i want to remove extra spaces that exists between the words. Here is the sentence. $string="The small DNA genome of hepadnaviruses is replicated by reverse transcription via an RNA intermediate. This RNA "pregenome" contains ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vanitham
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

selective removal of blank spaces in string