Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Parsing Command Line Arguments In C shell script Post 302794939 by hanson44 on Wednesday 17th of April 2013 03:34:50 AM
Old 04-17-2013
I am not a csh programmer. Smilie

But maybe I can help anyway. Would something like the following work:
Code:
echo "$RD_Heir" | grep -q 32b
if ( $? == 0 ) then
  setenv 32BIT true
else 
  setenv 64BIT true
endif

I don't think you need to use getopts.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Parsing the command line arguments

Is there a way to get the command line arguments. I am using getopt(3) but if the arguments are more than one for a particular option than it just ignores the second argument. For eg ./a.out -x abc def now abd will be got with -x using getopt "( x : )" and string abc\0def will get stored... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jayakhanna
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help parsing command line arguments in bash

Looking for a little help parsing some command line arguments in a bash script I am working on, this is probably fairly basic to most, but I do not have much experience with it. At the command line, when the script is run, I need to make sure the argument passed is a file, it exists in the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Breakology
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bourne Shell Script that only takes command line arguments

Does anybody know how to Accept a “userid” as a command line argument on a Unix Bourne Shell Script? The output should be something like this: User userid has a home directory of /path/directory the default shell for this user is /path/shell (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ajaira
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users