Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Passing the value of variable which is read from command line in called script Post 302790573 by varun22486 on Friday 5th of April 2013 07:23:58 PM
Old 04-05-2013
Passing a variable

It did not work failed saying unexpected <<

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing the command line argument in a variable

Hi, I am new to unix. Is their a way to pass the output of the line below to a variable var1. ls -1t | head -1. I am trying something like var1=ls -1t | head -1, but I get error. Situation is: I get file everyday through FTP in my unix box. I have to write a script that picks up first... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rkumar28
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing global variable to a function which is called by another function

Hi , I have three funcions f1, f2 and f3 . f1 calls f2 and f2 calls f3 . I have a global variable "period" which i want to pass to f3 . Can i pass the variable directly in the definition of f3 ? Pls help . sars (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: sars
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing a variables value from the called script to calling script using ksh

How do i get the value of the variable from the called script(script2) to the calling script(script1) in ksh ? I've given portion of the script here to explain the problem. Portion of Script 1 ============= ----- ----- tmp=`a.ksh p1 p2 p3` if then # error processing fi -----... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajarkumar
10 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing Command Line Args in a Single Variable?

Hello All, I have a Bash Script and an Expect script that together will SSH to another server and do some stuff there... From within the Bash Script I process the Command Line Arguments, which are Required Args and Optional Args. When I call the Expect script from the Bash Script, I pass... (4 Replies)