Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell Script for converting file to Excel or CSV Post 302790051 by Yoda on Thursday 4th of April 2013 02:44:54 PM
Old 04-04-2013
If your data is spooled from DB, you can create a CSV output by setting the column separator to comma in SQL:
Code:
set colsep ,

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script for converting file contents into CSV

Hi, I am new in unix, I just want to replace some values from text file according to column numbers. Like, I am having a table as given below: val1 val2 val3 val4 val5 val6 val7 val8 val9 val10 val11 val12 val13 Now i want... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: rish_max
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Problem in converting password protected excel file to csv file in unix

I need to convert a password protected excel file which will be in UNIX server to a comma separated file. For this I need to open the excel file in UNIX box but the UNIX box doesn't prompt for password instead it is opened in an encrypted manner. I could manually ftp the excel file to local... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Devivish
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

editing excel file through shell script

Hi, I am having a business file in excel having charts based on data already present on it. I would like to add new rows after the existing data and refesh the chart on it using shell script. For example-- In excel file in "sheet1", There is some data in first 10 rows ( from column A to F).... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sanjay1979
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to convert a excel file to a .csv file from unix script

Hi I have a excel file in unix machine and have to convert it into a .csv file.I have to do this from a unix script.How do we do this? Thanks Abhinav (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: akashtcs
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting