Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Run commands in a script in different shells Post 302787813 by Corona688 on Saturday 30th of March 2013 09:57:00 PM
Old 03-30-2013
If you want a command to run in the background, put an & after it.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

script to run different shells which run different processes

Hi, Would like to ask the experts if anyone knows how to run a script like this: dtterm -title shell1 run process1 on shell1 dtterm -title shell2 run process2 on shell2 cheers! p/s: sorry if i used the wrong forum, quite concussed after watching world cup for several nights; but I... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mochi
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to run a few commands help!

Hi friends this is first post i am very new to shell scripting so i require your expertise to do the following thank u I need to write a shell script which will run the following commands pg_dump bank > backup(Enter) Wait for bash prompt to appear coz it indicates that the command is... (23 Replies)
Discussion started by: perk_bud
23 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Run a shell script from one host which connext to remote host and run the commands

I want to write a script which would run from one host say A and connect to other remote host B and then run rest of commands in that host. I tried connecting from A host to B with SSH but after connecting to host B it just getting me inside Host B command prompt. Rest of the script is not running... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: SN2009
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

run commands within a script on certain days

Hi, please advise a script, something like this: If ; then do something else ( or for any other day of the week ) do otherthing fi Thanks (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: fed.linuxgossip
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting