Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Change time winter=>summer
Operating Systems AIX Change time winter=>summer Post 302786445 by MichaelFelt on Wednesday 27th of March 2013 12:39:18 PM
Old 03-27-2013
The time on your system has never changed (that is an internal number).
To see how it looks to new users either login again, or type
Code:
$ date

• modify TZ variable using set - or edit /etc/environment. If you edit /etc/environment, then
Code:
. /etc/environment
$ date

The last command gives the new presentation. Do not use the date command to change the time itself, just use the TZ variable to change the presentation of time of day.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Time change not working...

Hi, I am pretty new to the Solaris world. Just installed the version 8 and found that the time is off. I am in the Central time zone. In the beginning, the date and time was off by a day. After changing the /etc/default/init, there is no avail. The date is now correct but the time is still 5 hours... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: conflansun
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Winter/Summer time change

Reliant Unix. Our branch in Syria has a Unix Server running our company application. Usually the the time is changed not in a fixed date.....but around end of October and beginning of November. The night of the summer winter time change last year...we put the server in singel user mode, then... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: bcheaib
0 Replies

3. Linux

How To change time?

what command must i use to change time ? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sirius
4 Replies

4. AIX

summer Time

Good Morning I want to know how I can Abort tha automaticaly date change from summer to winter time ( At the the last sunday of march the date change) Please it is very urgent (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mktahar
0 Replies

5. Solaris

change time