Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: XML parsing by UNIX
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users XML parsing by UNIX Post 302783613 by Michael Stora on Wednesday 20th of March 2013 05:20:21 PM
Old 03-20-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by arindam guha
Hi,
I am new in shell scripting. i want to extract tag values in xml files by using shell script. my files like this:
<cw: properties>
<cw:std_properties>
<tns: properties>
<tns:name>AdminOutQueue</tns:name>
<tns:type>String</tns:type>
<tns:subtype>QueueName</tns:subtype>
<tns:value xml:space="preserve">WBIA.SMRPSC1.ADOUTQ</tns:value>
<tns:description>The logical queue that will be used by the connector to write admin messages to the broker</tns:description>
<tns:updateMethod>component restart</tns:updateMethod>
<tns:location>
<tns:reposController>false</tns:reposController>
<tns:reposAgent>true</tns:reposAgent>
<tns:localConfig>true</tns:localConfig>
</tns:location>
<tns:isEncrypted>false</tns:isEncrypted>
</tns: properties>
<tns: properties>
<tns:name>AgentTraceLevel</tns:name>
<tns:type>Integer</tns:type>
<tns:subtype />
<tns:value xml:space="preserve">5</tns:value>
<tns:description>Trace level for the connector agent</tns:description>
<tns:updateMethod>component restart</tns:updateMethod>
<tns:location>
<tns:reposController>false</tns:reposController>
<tns:reposAgent>true</tns:reposAgent>
<tns:localConfig>true</tns:localConfig>
</tns:location>
<tns:isEncrypted>false</tns:isEncrypted>
</tns: properties>

</cw: properties>
</cw:std_properties>

i want to extract AdminOutQueue or AgentTraceLevel property value like tns:value for both.
how can i do that?please help.
Thanks in advance

regards,
Arindam
Grep will get the whole line.
Code:
line=$(grep *AdminOutQueue* file_name)

In Bash ${string#substring} removes substring from the front of string and
${string%substring} from the end
Code:
name="${"${"$line"#"<tns:name>AdminOutQueue</tns:"}"%">"}"

Mike

PS: in the future, start a new thread for a new subject.