Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Solaris 9 - Unable to ping a particular server, traceroute also displays * * * Post 302781965 by Sanjay255 on Monday 18th of March 2013 06:41:29 AM
Old 03-18-2013
Oracle Solaris 9 - Unable to ping a particular server, traceroute also displays * * *

Hi All,

I am new to solaris environment and we are using Solaris 9

The problem is am unable to ping a particular server from from one of the solaris server

The traceroute also shows only * * * for all the 30 hops

I tried to check all the settings like
1) /etc/hosts -> contains the exact ip of the server to which am trying to ping
2) /etc/resolv.conf -. has the proper DNS
3) /etc/defaultrouter -> has the correct default router assigned
4) No firewall is set

Am able to ping other servers, but only unable to ping/ftp/telnet one and which is very important and necessary for me

Kindly guide me how to resolve the issue

Please let me know if more information is required on this

Thanks in advance for all your valuable suggestion and help

Regards,
Sanjay

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

ping/traceroute setuid programs

This may be a dumb question, but I've been wondering why programs such as ping and traceroute must be setuid? Are there some restrictions which prevent normal users from accessing the world via sockets? $ pwd /bin $ ls -l ping traceroute -rwsr-xr-x 1 root root 35616 Apr 7 2005 ping... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: nathan
1 Replies

2. Solaris

unable to ping server

hi, I setup a Solaris machine in my server room and my client cannot access it. Can anyone advise? Test that i have done: -My client pc cannot ping the server. -My solaris server cannot ping client -My solaris server can ping it's gateway -Another NT machine 1 (10.179.30.26) in the server... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: skiturn
2 Replies

3. IP Networking

unable to ping to my server