Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Help with xargs
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with xargs Post 302781227 by axiopisty on Friday 15th of March 2013 05:57:20 PM
Old 03-15-2013
Quote:
Apparently catalina has its port as string 2 here, but most things won't.
I don't think this is specific to catalina. In my example, catalina was just an example of a program I was searching for. the output is actually coming from ps -aux. So, it looks like it would always be column 2 unless ps was configured to reorder the columns.

Quote:
Also, whenever you're doing grep | grep | awk | kitchen | sink, you should just replace it all with one simple awk command.
I'm also a newbie with awk. In my original post I mentioned that I would also like to have "catalina" be a parameter that I could pass into the script. If I wanted to do this search for some other application, say httpd for example, would there be an easy way to pass that in as a parameter to the script? I was thinking that using the form of
Code:
grep $1 |grep -v grep

would make it easier to replace the parameter, "catalina" in this example, with a parameter passed into the script rather than having to make the script wrap [] around the first character of $1.

What would the appropriate awk command be to search for the passed in parameter "$1" instead of searching for "/[c]atalina/" if I don't use the grep | grep -v form?

Also, is there a way to do this with xargs?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with xargs

Hi there, I am trying to move around 3000 files from one directory to another. The mv command is complaining from too many arguments. I tried to use the xargs command but with no luck. Could some body provide help? Regards (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: JimJim
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

why we use xargs..

hi , can anyone help me by saying why we use xargs.. is it acing like a place holder..? thanks, Krips. (3 Replies)