Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Tarring files up to four days old Post 302777271 by DGPickett on Thursday 7th of March 2013 02:22:37 PM
Old 03-07-2013
The find mtime is nice for casual stuff like log file finding, but for precise date-time bracketing, touch marker files and "find ... -newer marker1 ! -newer marker2". After, make marker2 into marker1. The gnu/LINUX date command is good for formatting dates.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

backup : files being modified while tarring

I would like to back up several directories weekly using a cronjob. I'm not experienced in UNIX, but I would start like this: tar -cvf backup.tar dir1 dir2 dir3 Now if a file is being modified in the process it will result in an error. How can I prevent this from happening and how can I... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jamesbond
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

tarring and gzipping dump files

Say I want to transfer several dump files from a Solaris machine onto a Win2k machine for storage. It was suggested that I tar and gzip the dump files before doing so. Is it completely necessary to use both of these utilities, or is it sufficient to compress multiple dump files into one gzip... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: PSC
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ls latest 4 days or specify days of files in the directory

Hi, I would like to list latest 2 days, 3 days or 4 days,etc of files in the directory... how? is it using ls? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: happyv
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

tarring large no. of files

dears, I have a folder containing huge no. of files, some of them are created on AUG 16, AUG 17 and AUG 18, for example. All I want to do is tarring all the files created on a certain date, say AUG 18, in one tar file, only in one command line. So, how to feed all the files created on a certain... (4 Replies)