Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Is it possible to Divide a negative number in bash script Post 302776097 by kmnr877 on Wednesday 6th of March 2013 01:53:10 AM
Old 03-06-2013
I am taking the values one by one from the file and storing in a variable some. I am completely new to scripting so can you point if there is some other way to do it? Thank you in advance.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

C++ how to isdigit() a negative number?

hi people, I have a function which I am passing a stream which is basically postfix notation if(isdigit(in.peek())) { in >> number; nums.push(number); } else if (strchr("+-*/", in.peek( )) != NULL) { in >> symbol; do_operation(symbol, nums, okay); } ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Darklight
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grep for a negative number

Hi, I want to search for a return code of -3. Using grep "-3" *.* is giving a syntax error. Please suggest as to how can we search for this pattern using grep. Thanks, Krishna (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kzmatam
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ignore negative number in script

Hi, does anyone know how to ignore whether a number is negative in a script. E.g. if I have a variable that contains -1200, how do I ignore the minus sign? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: borderblaster
1 Replies

4. HP-UX

Division returning a negative number

Hi All, Just faced an interesting thing in HP-UX. I was dividing 2955334616 / 2 by using echo `expr 2955334616 / 2` , and this ofcourse which expects 1477667308 to be returned. But I am getting -669816340 and I am :wall: how exactly this is possible. It is not one of the compliments (Ones or... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mail2sanand
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Add and divide each numbers with the added number