Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Columns Built in awk Variables don't export Post 302775277 by Scrutinizer on Monday 4th of March 2013 12:35:12 PM
Old 03-04-2013
Why use awk? Try:
Code:
read NAME NAME2 < /tmp/tst
export NAME NAME2

--
@bipinajith, you do not need to chmod +x if you only source a file..
This User Gave Thanks to Scrutinizer For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

awk built in variables

Dear experts I am learning awk command through some books on Solaris 8. I have tested the folloing command awk 'BEGIN { print match ("And" , /d/)}' then the result is as following awk: syntax error near line 1 awk: illegal statement near line 1 Could you please help on this and just... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Reza Nazarian
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

export variables

I have a master shell, which calls another shell to export some env variables. But when I just run the child shell from the command line, and see if the variables are exported by doing, echo $EXPORTED_VAR1 I am not seeing the value. But I am sure, I am using the child shell from a master... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: srishan
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

export env variables

hi i want to write a shell script to set environment variables . But i am not been able to set that for the current shell instead i have to spawn a new shell. Is there a way to set the env variable for the current shell using shell script in bash shell ? Thnx (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: varun.81
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to export variables

Hi, I am a newbie to unix as well as scripting. I need to write a script, which on execution sets the necessay oracle variables. Can someone help me out as to how to proceed? also can u suggest good tutorial for bash/shell scripting? thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: aboxilica
1 Replies

5. Solaris