Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Arithmetic calculations in bash file Post 302774921 by Yoda on Sunday 3rd of March 2013 08:07:38 PM
Old 03-03-2013
Code:
awk ' BEGIN { printf "%f\n", (0.569000006-0.369000018) / 5.0 } '

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Non-integer calculations in bash

I'm new at scripting but I thought I was getting pretty good at it. I've hit a snag. I try to use expr to compute a fraction say: expr 3 / 4, and I'm getting zero. I guess it's just truncating to the integer, in this case 0, but I need the decimal 0.75. What can I do to compute this value in... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jeriryan87
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

any way to speed up calculations in bash script

hi i have a script that is taking the difference of multiple columns in a file from a value from a single row..so far i have a loop to do that.. all the data is floating point..fin has the difference between array1 and array2..array1 has 700 x 300= 210000 values and array2 has 700 values.. ... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: npatwardhan
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help is manipulating a file with some arithmetic operations using bash script

Friends, I have a file with contents like: interface Serial0/4/0/0/1/1/1/1:0 encapsulation mfr multilink group 101 Now I need to manipulate the file in such a way that to all the numbers less than 163, 63 gets added and to all numbers greater than 163, 63 gets deducted.(The numbers... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shrijith1
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

calculations in bash

HI i have following problem, i need to use split command to split files each should be cca 700 lines but i dont know how to inplement it in the scripts becasuse each time the origin file will be various size , any body got any idea cheers (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kvok
2 Replies