Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Kind of reverse engineering
Operating Systems Linux Kind of reverse engineering Post 302773491 by nidal on Thursday 28th of February 2013 04:58:42 AM
Old 02-28-2013
Code Kind of reverse engineering

Hi everyone,
I'm a linux novice , in a training purpose i have to reconstruct under windows an application running under fedora 14, the application communicates with an STB device through RS232 in a first time and then through ethernet for firmware loading purpose.
All what i know is how to run the application then it shows some informations as "plug the RS232 connecter, restart the STB... " then if done it proceed to send files through RS232 then it reboot the device then it loads other files through ethernet
What i need is to interpret how it communicates with the device, what commands it sends to the device and what it recieves so i can develop my own application in windows, a sort of reverse engineering.

Can you guys help me please?

4 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Performance engineering concepts

Hello, I would like get idea about performance enginering from basic to advanced level. Do anyone know a place where i can find some videos related to performance engineering ? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: shafi2all
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sampling and Binning- Engineering problem

Hi everyone! Can you please help me with some shell scripting? I have an input file input.txt It has 3 columns (Time, Event, Value) Time event Value 03:38:22 A 57 03:38:23 A 56 03:38:24 B 24 03:38:25 C 51 03:38:26 B 7 03:38:26 ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Needhelp2
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk, shell script reverse engineering app generator - project