Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Cannot make pipe for process substitution: Too many open files Post 302772345 by CiCa on Monday 25th of February 2013 06:52:23 AM
Old 02-25-2013
Cannot make pipe for process substitution: Too many open files

Hi,

I've came across an issue with a script I've been writing to check DHCP addresses on an Solaris system, the script has been running reasonably well, until it hit the following problem:

Code:
./sub_mon_v2: redirection error: cannot duplicate fd: Too many open files
./sub_mon_v2: cannot make pipe for process substitution: Too many open files
./sub_mon_v2: line 45: <(echo $result | awk -F"/" '{print $1,$2,$3}'): ambiguous redirect

./sub_mon_v2: line 45: <(echo $result | awk -F"/" '{print $1,$2,$3}'): ambiguous redirect

I'm pretty sure this is down to scrappy coding (with me being the culprit - I'm still learning Smilie).

Is there anyone here that could maybe provide a few pointers as to how I can clean up the following function to try and fix the problem displayed above (I've higlighed what is almost certainly the problem line in bold):
Code:
check ()
{
        > $low_subs

# Following line creates the list of subnets to check (minus the exempt subnets).
        /usr/xpg4/bin/grep -vxFf <(egrep -v "#|^$" $exempt) $check_list > $final_list

while read line
        do
                while read result
                do
                        #Read each the date for each IP address in Day Month Year variables for checking
                        read month day year < <(echo $result | awk -F"/" '{print $1,$2,$3}')

# if it expired in a previous year, bin it
                        if [ $year -lt $curr_year ]
                        then
                                (( total_ip = total_ip +1 ))
                        fi

# if it expired in a previous month, bin it.
                        if [ $year -eq $curr_year ] && [ $month -lt $curr_month ]
                        then