Sponsored Content
Operating Systems OS X (Apple) Changing txt files to pure UTF-8 Post 302772033 by DGPickett on Friday 22nd of February 2013 01:34:54 PM

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Finding files with UTF-8 BOM

Hi, there: I am relatively new to Unix. So, I am not even sure if I am asking is an easy or difficult task. I want to peform GREP like command which will generate a list of files with a file format of UTF-8. I would especially like to know whether the files use UTF-8 or UTF-8N (in other... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: kotoponus
0 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

echo "ABC" > file1.txt file2.txt file3.txt

Hi Guru's, I need to create 3 files with the contents "ABC" using single command. Iam using: echo "ABC" > file1.txt file2.txt file3.txt the above command is not working. pls help me... With Regards / Ganapati (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ganapati
4 Replies

3. Solaris

list files .txt and .TXT in one command

Dear experts, In a directory i have both *.TXT and *.txt files. I have a script- for file in `ls *.txt`; do mv $file /tmp/$file How to list both *.txt and*.TXT file in one command so that script will move both .txt or .TXT whatever it find. br//purple (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: thepurple
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Changing txt

Hi all, I currently use this code to delete text from file names when they are dropped in a folder. find . -type f | while read i;do && mv "$i" "${i//2009abc/}" ;done I have four versions of the code that delete the unwanted text if it has 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009 with other standard... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Monkey Dean
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving the files in a.txt files to a different directory