Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell script to compare ,diff and remove betwen 2 files Post 302771459 by DGPickett on Wednesday 20th of February 2013 04:39:00 PM
Old 02-20-2013
You can generate an ex script to modify the copy back in sync using diff -e. This can be good for sending small changes to a big file over slow networks.

Now, if you have a master file and 2 children with different changes, you can generate an ex script to put both changes in the master using diff3 -e Think parallel development changes merge.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare 2 coloum of 2 diff files using perl script

Hi, i am new to perl scripting.. i am still learing it.. i am asked to write a perl script which should compare 2 coloums of 2 different files. if those 2 coloumn are same the script should store the both the lines in 2 diff files. these are files, file 1: 21767016 226112 char 19136520... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vasuki
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare two files and output diff to third file

I have made several attempts to read two files of ip addresses and eliminate records from file1 that are in file2. My latest attempt follows. Everything works except my file3 is exactly the same as file1 and it should not be. # !/usr/bin/bash # # NoInterfaces # Utility will create a file... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: altamaha
8 Replies

3. UNIX and Linux Applications

How to compare two files using shell script

hi experts please help me to compare two files which are in different directory file1<file will be master file> (/home/rev/mas.txt} ex x1 x2 file2 <will be in different folder> (/home/rev/per/.....) ex x3 x4 the filesinside per folder i need to compare with master file... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: revenna
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare two files, diff the result