Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Version of OpenSSL being used Post 302770940 by CHoggarth on Tuesday 19th of February 2013 06:10:53 AM
Old 02-19-2013
Version of OpenSSL being used

Hello

I'm relatively new to technologies like Apache & ssl but have some years
experience with Unix. My question concerns the version of OpenSSL which is
genuinely being used on our server & how is that set.

The server is running Solaris 10. I'll show output from various commands:

Code:
:/usr/local/ssl # pkginfo -l SMCossl
   PKGINST:  SMCossl
      NAME:  openssl
  CATEGORY:  application
      ARCH:  sparc
   VERSION:  1.0.1c
   BASEDIR:  /usr/local
    VENDOR:  The OpenSSL Group
    PSTAMP:  Steve Christensen
  INSTDATE:  Aug 17 2012 07:27
     EMAIL:  steve@smc.vnet.net
     FILES:     1871 installed pathnames
                   1 shared pathnames
                  43 directories
                  32 executables
               30745 blocks used (approx)

:/usr/local/ssl #

Code:
:/usr/local/ssl # openssl version -a
OpenSSL 1.0.1c 10 May 2012
built on: Sun May 13 18:44:13 EDT 2012
platform: solaris-sparcv9-gcc
options:  bn(64,32) rc4(ptr,char) des(idx,cisc,16,long) idea(int) blowfish(ptr)
compiler: gcc -fPIC -DOPENSSL_PIC -DOPENSSL_THREADS -D_REENTRANT -
DDSO_DLFCN -DHAVE_DLFCN_H -m32 -mcpu=ultrasparc -O3 -fomit-frame-
pointer -Wall -DB_ENDIAN -DBN_DIV2W -DOPENSSL_BN_ASM_MONT -DSHA1
_ASM -DSHA256_ASM -DSHA512_ASM -DAES_ASM -DGHASH_ASM
OPENSSLDIR: "/usr/local/ssl"
:/usr/local/ssl #

But if I run telnet xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 80 & OPTIONS / HTTP1.0 from our network it reports 0.9.8x:

Code:
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Tue, 19 Feb 2013 10:20:37 GMT
Server: Apache/2.2.23 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.22 OpenSSL/0.9.8x DAV/2
Allow: POST,OPTIONS,GET,HEAD
Vary: Accept-Encoding
Content-Length: 0
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html

Connection to host lost.

W:\>

I've been advised to use OPTIONS / HTTP1.0 to determine which version is genuinely being used.