Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Grep words with spaces and save the output Post 302768501 by DGPickett on Friday 8th of February 2013 04:45:44 PM
Old 02-08-2013
Code:
while read i
do
i2=$( echo "$i" | tr ' ' '_' )
grep -i "$i" schedule >> "$i2"
done < teams

Last edited by DGPickett; 02-11-2013 at 10:25 AM.. Reason: Change spaces in file name to _

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

How do I print(save) words to postscript?

It should be pretty simple but I'm just new to IDL and am workling through the command line and scripts(program.pro). If I want to save words to the bottom of a .ps file that I am putting a few plots in what should written in my code. set_plot works for plots but apparently not words. Print... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: luked
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Retaining spaces between words

Retaining Spaces within a word -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Hi Experts, I have a 2 GB flat file which have unicode field, some of them are blanks and its size is 4000 character. In the existing system SED command removes the spaces.... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: RcR
7 Replies

3. Programming

Counting characters, words, spaces, punctuations, etc.

I am very new to C programming. How could I write a C program that could count the characters, words, spaces, and punctuations in a text file? Any help will be really appreciated. I am doing this as part of my C learning exercise. Thanks, Ajay (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajay41aj
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Save cURL verbose output to file or do it like browser "save as.."