Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Ruby: "Can't convert nil into String" error Post 302767857 by Elvirnith on Thursday 7th of February 2013 03:20:10 PM
Old 02-07-2013
Ruby: "Can't convert nil into String" error

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to ruby and I'm trying to put together this script to process cron jobs on a server. It's almost working, except I can't figure out what exactly is wrong and how to fix it. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Here's what I have so far:

Code:
require 'rubygems'
require 'crontab-parser'

start_time = Time.parse(ARGV[0])
end_time = Time.parse(ARGV[1])

File.open('/root/flagged_cron_jobs.log', 'w+') do |f2|

crontab_data = File.readlines(ARGV[2]).select {|line| line =~ /^[0-9*]/}
cron  = CrontabParser.new(crontab_data.join("\n"))
(start_time..end_time).each do |timestamp|
  next unless timestamp.sec.to_i == 0
  cron.each do |cron_entry|
Dir["/var/spool/cron/*"].each do |file|
  username = file.split("/").last
  crontab = CrontabParser.new(File.read(file))
  puts "User: #{username}"
    if cron_entry.should_run?(timestamp)
      f2.puts "#{timestamp}\t#{cron_entry.cmd}"

end
      end
    end
  end
end

Here's the error:

Code:
cron_parse.rb:9:in `readlines': can't convert nil into String (TypeError)
	from cron_parse.rb:9
	from cron_parse.rb:7:in `open'
	from cron_parse.rb:7

Command being executed is like so:

Code:
ruby cron_parse.rb "Thurs Feb 7 01:00 UTC 2013" "Thurs Feb 7 01:14 UTC 2013"

I suspect it's because of the addition of
Code:
 crontab = CrontabParser.new(File.read(file))

in relation to
Code:
cron  = CrontabParser.new(crontab_data.join("\n"))

but I'm not really sure of how to deal with this.

Last edited by jim mcnamara; 02-07-2013 at 04:53 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Convert "text" to "packed-decimal"?