Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Write the lines in one single line Post 302767207 by anshaa on Wednesday 6th of February 2013 11:32:34 AM
Old 02-06-2013
i am new to unix, need some method to do the following case.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Joining lines to single line in VI

Dear friends, In VI, I have these data shown below: Line1 Line2 Line3 Line4 How can I JOIN these line to the first line? When I finished I should have: Line1 Line2 Line3 Line4 is there a text length limit of how long a single line can be in VI? Thank you much! (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: bobo
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need output in different lines not in one single line

I am getting the coutput like this as show below in one single line, where as the command is executed is several lines and the output should also be requied in several lines, not in one single line. Anyone any idea? p4 opened -a | grep *locked* | awk '{ printf $8 }' >/tmp/aa $ cat... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: csaha
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Break lines up into single lines after each space in every line

It sounds a bit confusing but what I have is a text file like the example below (without the Line1, Line2, Line3 etc. of course) and I want to move every group of characters into a new line after each space. Example of text file; line1 .digg-widget-theme2 ul { background: rgb(0, 0, 0) none... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: lewk
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Multiple lines into a single line

Hi, I've some files with the following data and i need to convert the lines between the separator ---, into a single line. I've tried with the paste cmd but my main problem is that the number of lines between the separator is not fix, it can very between 1-4 lines. Input --- 2010-02-22... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: RickyC9999
4 Replies