Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Parsing cron data with awk
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Parsing cron data with awk Post 302766409 by Elvirnith on Monday 4th of February 2013 04:39:48 PM
Old 02-04-2013
Ah, I didn't even consider those... yeah, that's going to make it a lot more complicated than it already is.

Do you know of any docs / examples out there which cover specifically what I'm trying to do here? I've been reading awk docs throughout the day, but I've of yet to find anything of relevance. Just a piece here or there, but nothing that's helped me form a whole so far.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Parsing XML dynamic data via awk?

I am trying to use a line of output in an XML file as input in another new XML file for processing purposes via a shell script. Since I am a newbie though, I'm not sure how to do this since the data is different everytime. I am using this technique with static data right now: echo -n "Running... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: corwin43
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing the data

Hi I need to parse the following data using shell script Table ----- stage4n_abc 48 stage4o_abcd 4 adashpg_abc_HeartBeat 1 stage4l_asc 168 Can anyone gimme the solution. I want each value to get stored in an array or variable and want the value to be greped from another file.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Archana.Dheepan
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Question about Awk for Data Parsing

Hi, I am doing some data parsing for some economics research. I was recently exposed to shell script and am brand new to awk. I have a large csv file (like 10G) and I would like to make it a lot smaller with awk, but it is a bit tricky for me and I haven't been able to get it yet. I would... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: EconResearch
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing data