Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: LINES in shell programming
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting LINES in shell programming Post 302760835 by DGPickett on Thursday 24th of January 2013 04:12:01 PM
Old 01-24-2013
'type 'match apple'? Output whole line (minus any white space around field 1):
Code:

echo "$a $b"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shell Programming

I have a fix_table.ksh script that takes a TABLENAME and a date. So, in jk_table_file.txt I have the tables...one per line, and in jk_out_file.txt I have the date in the format I need. The following doesn not 'want' to work in a shell script... for TABLE in `cat jk_table_file.txt`; do ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: JWK1
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shell Programming Help

Hi, I am new to shell programming, and hve been given a request to write a shell script. Is there any good places to go to see examples of how to write shell programming scripts? Thanks (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mec585858
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Programming?

For what purposes should we use shell /what are the tasks we can achieve using shell which is best book to learn shell programming and will nayone tell me diff between shell programming aand shell scripting? Thank u in advance. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: shrikrishna
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell programming

I want notes for learning Shell programming (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Neha Agarwal
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

{} in shell programming

Could someone please tell me what {} mean when they surround a variable? For instance, $FILE = 'basename $1' //what is passed into this script $BANK = 'dirname $1' $INFILE = ${FILE}.${BANK}.$$ What does $INFILE contain after this assignment? Please let me know Thanks G (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vgirijanaidu
4 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting