Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to run commands at a specific time. Post 302755281 by rob2468 on Saturday 12th of January 2013 11:32:46 AM
Old 01-12-2013
Code:
crontab -e

use this command to set the time and commands, you can refer to the manual to get the rules. This command automatically uses a simple editor for user to implement settings. After your saving the contents. so, finished
you can set the first 5 fields which represent time set with "* * * * *" to see whether commands work or not. This might be the shortest time quantum.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to run a few commands help!

Hi friends this is first post i am very new to shell scripting so i require your expertise to do the following thank u I need to write a shell script which will run the following commands pg_dump bank > backup(Enter) Wait for bash prompt to appear coz it indicates that the command is... (23 Replies)
Discussion started by: perk_bud
23 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Run several commands at a time

Hello guys, I am new at shell scripting and I want to create a script that runs several commands at a time, ie: uptime, w, df -h and so on and send the output of this commands to a text file so it can be send via email at a certain time using crontab. Any help will be much appreciated! (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: agasamapetilon
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Run Command in Specific Time ...

Guy's I want to make script to run this command solevel every Saturday at 8:00 clock exactly . Can you please help me and teach me how to do this ... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: IT Helper
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Run a shell script from one host which connext to remote host and run the commands