Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: awk to format file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk to format file Post 302755013 by rdrtx1 on Friday 11th of January 2013 03:42:28 PM
Old 01-11-2013
try also:
Code:
awk '{sub(" .*="," servers="); gsub(":"," "); print}' infile > another_file

or
Code:
sed 's/ .*=/ servers=/; s/:/ /g' infile > another_file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK CSV to TXT format, TXT file not in a correct column format

HI guys, I have created a script to read 1 column in a csv file and then place it in text file. However, when i checked out the text file, it is not in a column format... Example: CSV file contains name,age aa,11 bb,22 cc,33 After using awk to get first column TXT file... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mdap
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk/nawk question to format a file

Hi, I am new to awk/nawk, needs help. I want to merge the rows having emplid attribute same into a single row in the following file. In actual this kind of file will have around 50k rows. Here is my input file id|emplid|firstname|dep|lastname 1|001234|test|1001|1 2|002345|test|1032|2... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kumar04
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

File Join with different format using awk

File Join with different format using awk file1 file2 nawk -F"=" 'NR==FNR{a++;next} a{ print a, output Help is appreciated (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: pinnacle
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need awk/sed to format a file

My content of source file is as below scr1 a1 scr2 a2 b2 scr3 a3 b3 c3 I need a awk/sed command (to be used in C shell)to format it to something like below scr1 $a1 >file1 scr2 $a2 $b2 >file2 scr3 $a3 $b3 $c3 >file3 (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: animesharma
12 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Change a file content format using awk