Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with parsing data with awk , eliminating unwanted data Post 302751433 by itkamaraj on Friday 4th of January 2013 02:33:05 AM
Old 01-04-2013
Code:
 $ nawk '/VG Name/{v=$NF}/PE Size/{ps=$NF}/Free PE/{fp=$NF}fp{print v,ps,fp;fp="";}' input.txt
/dev/vg00 8 2036
/dev/vg01 8 20366
/dev/vg02 8 203645
/dev/vg03 8 2036890

if you dont have nawk, then use awk
This User Gave Thanks to itkamaraj For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Parsing XML dynamic data via awk?

I am trying to use a line of output in an XML file as input in another new XML file for processing purposes via a shell script. Since I am a newbie though, I'm not sure how to do this since the data is different everytime. I am using this technique with static data right now: echo -n "Running... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: corwin43
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove unwanted data?

Hi Can any one help me remove the unwanted data? I would want to remove the complete event id 4910 ( the type there is INFO), that means, I have to remove starting from 7th - 19th lines. can any one of you please help? Thanks, (24 Replies)
Discussion started by: hitmansilentass
24 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Eliminate unwanted data

Hi, I am stuck on writing a script that reads a file, retains wanted data but discards unwanted data from a CSV file. This is a sample of my table {not the actual data) ID Color tel_num Name color2 color3 abcdef green 5551212 jj88 red blue acbdfe yellow... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: t524ube
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Question about Awk for Data Parsing