Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Remove regularly repeated lines Post 302751179 by rdrtx1 on Thursday 3rd of January 2013 10:36:16 AM
Old 01-03-2013
try:
Code:
awk '{if (++c % 6 && !d) {e=d=0; print } else {if (++e % 4) {d=1; c=0} else {print "\n"$0; d=e=0}}}' input

Last edited by rdrtx1; 01-03-2013 at 02:53 PM.. Reason: added blocks of 5 spacing
This User Gave Thanks to rdrtx1 For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove repeated line using Perl

I am new to Perl and in text file of around 1000 lines having around 500 repeated line which I felt is no use and want to remove these line.so can somebody help in same for providing sample code how can i remove these repeated line in a file. (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: dinesh.4126
11 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove anything after repeated string pattern found

HI, Can anyone help me with a script. i/p calc 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 calc 4 5 6 calc 7 8 9 o/p calc 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 calc 4 5 6 i.e remove anything after where two times the string calc is found. thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Indra2011
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove brackets and put it in a column and remove repeated entry

Hi all, I want to remove the remove bracket sign ( ) and put in the separate column I also want to remove the repeated entry like in first row in below input (PA156) is repeated ESR1 (PA156) leflunomide (PA450192) (PA156) leflunomide (PA450192) CHST3 (PA26503) docetaxel... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: manigrover
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

need to print lines between repeated pattern

Hi all, I have a file that looks like this: uid=bessemsj version: 1 dn: cn=Desk SpecialAdminDesk, ou=Desks, dc=DSS,c=nl,o=Vodafone dn: cn=DSS Advisors, ou=Groups, dc=DSS,c=nl,o=Vodafone dn: cn=DSS Dispatcher,ou=Groups,dc=DSS,c=nl,o=Vodafone dn: cn=Desk Retention Desk,ou=Desks,... (13 Replies)