Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl script to parse multiple windows event logs. Post 302741283 by spacebar on Friday 7th of December 2012 09:34:35 PM
Old 12-07-2012
Try it like this:
Code:
use Win32::EventLog;

my @log_type            =  ( "Application", "Security", "Setup", "System", "Forwarded Events" );
my $log_type;
my $elh;
my $events_count        =  0;
my $total_events_count  =  0;

foreach $log_type ( @log_type ) {
  $elh  =  Win32::EventLog->new(  $log_type ) or die "Can't open $log_type Event Log\n";
  $elh->GetNumber( $events_count );
  $total_events_count  =  $total_events_count + $events_count;
}
print $total_events_count;

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl script to rotate logs

I have a shell script that will gzip/tar/archive application logs that are over 20 days old which works just fine, but I would like to convert to a Perl script. Problem is, I'm a beginner with Perl and all attempts so far have failed. Basicaly I have a log dir /app/logs that contains several... (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: theninja
18 Replies

2. Solaris

ILOM event logs

Hello I have a server Sun Fire X4250. Few days ago I take a look to ILOM -> System Monitoring -> log events. I saw some lines that I don't understand, for example: 5800 Chassis Action major Oct 30 23:58:35 2009 Hot insertion of /SYS/DBP/HDD12 5799 Chassis ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: marimontes
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl script to parse all files in the folder

Hello Smart People! I have a perl script that will import xml data into an access db. I would like to modify it so it will automatcially parse through all xml files in the folder. I swa a post but couldnt get it working. her is what my scrip looks like, i only list the top if you need more... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cowboymaverick
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting