Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Find and replace variables using a csv table Post 302740639 by rdrtx1 on Thursday 6th of December 2012 01:21:45 PM
Old 12-06-2012
try:
Code:
awk '{for (i=2; i<=NF; i++) print "VAR_"$1"_"i-1"="$i}' FS=" *, *" infile

pipe to sh, use back quotes, or wrap in $(...) to set variables.
This User Gave Thanks to rdrtx1 For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

HTML table to CSV

Hi !! I have HTML Tables through which i want to generate graphs, but for creating graphs i need the file in CSV format so can anyone can please help me in how can i convert my HTML table file to CSV format. Thanks in Advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: i_priyank
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I read/find/replace fields in a csv datafile?

hello. I'm somewhat a novice here so please be patient. My stumbling block when loading csvs into ORACLE tables is this: I need to read a csv datafile, check several fields in each line, and if any of stated fields contain A ZERO only then replace it with a null/blank character. I had a... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: MrCarter
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

csv to table one-liner

I've googled a lot on this, but could not fine a simple one-liner to do this. I have a .csv file that looks like this: Header one Header two Header three col1,col2,col3 short data, very long data, dataIf I use sed and change the comma to tab, being the colums of variable length I don't get a... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ahsog
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

find & replace comma in a .csv file.

HI, Please find the text below. I receive a .csv file on server. I need the comma(,) in the second column to be replaced by a semi-colon( ; ). How to do it. Please help. Sample text: "1","lastname1,firstname1","xxxxxx","19/10/2009","23/10/2009","0","N","Leave"... (2 Replies)