Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Limiting the Script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Limiting the Script Post 302739999 by Yoda on Wednesday 5th of December 2012 10:08:19 AM
Old 12-05-2012
One way of doing this is to keep track of the time in a file. Just to give you an idea, you can code something like this:-
Code:
CURR_TS=$( date +"%Y%m%d%H" )                       # Current time-stamp
FILE_TS=$( cat curr_ts.txt 2> /dev/null )           # Time-stamp in file

if [ $CURR_TS -eq $FILE_TS ]                        # Checking if current time-stamp & time-stamp in file is matching.
then
      # Do not send email
else
      # Do send email
      echo $CURR_TS > curr_ts.txt                   # Update new time-stamp in file.
fi

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Limiting access

Hi, I'm new to linux and unix, and i have couple of problems: 1) how can i limit the access for a user, for example, i created a user, and i want that this user will be able to be only in one directory, and will see only the files i want him to. 2) I have a domain name, and i want that every... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: misha
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Limiting telnet sessions on HP UX Box

Anyone know how to limit the telnet sessions on a per user basis on an HP UX Box. I would like to limit the Maximum number of telnet seesions a user can open at any give time to around 4 or 5. I have been looking and looking and do not seem to be able to find anything on this. Any help would be... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Witlr
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

question about limiting the display from the ls command

hey guys im rly new to unix. im attempting to list the 5 largest files in a directory. so i got this far... ls -lR | sort -r and this lists all files by filesize, how can i limit this to only the 5 largest? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Aesop
4 Replies

4. HP-UX