Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Grep search for value between dates Post 302737191 by mmsiddig on Wednesday 28th of November 2012 12:51:38 PM
Old 11-28-2012
Grep search for value between dates

Hi
I am new to scripting and I have a requirement to grep a value from large numbers of xml files and see if this value exist then I want to check the date and see if it falls between two dates (eg: today and feb 17), then print the name of file. the values in xml file is as follow
Name="TNT_License_End" Value="2012-12-29"
first check for TNT_Licencse_End then for the date if it actually between today and Feb 17.
Thank you in anticipation for you help.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep a log file between 2 dates

Hi Currently I can grep a log file with the following command: $results = `grep -A 2 '^$date.$time.*' $log`; and the following arguments: $date = 2007/04/25 $time = 16:07 Log example: 2007/04/25 16:07:12.145701 2007/05/25 14:07:12.145701 2007/05/25 17:07:12.145701 2007/06/25... (37 Replies)
Discussion started by: Epiphone
37 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep a log file to filter previous dates

Hi, I have problem of filtering a log file from my perl script. #cat /data/pinpe.csv_20070731 | nawk -v FS=, '{print $1','$18','$22','$26}' | grep -w 100 | grep -w 1 | nawk '{print $4}' Below is the output: 2009-06-16 2009-01-29 2009-06-02 2008-03-05 2007-08-05 2007-09-24... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: pinpe
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I search between dates?

I have a folder that has files that go way back to 2005. How can I search for files between say Jan 2006 - Dec 2007 only? I did a man on the Find command but nothing in there. Any help would be appreciated. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bbbngowc
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need script to generate all the dates in DDMMYY format between 2 dates