Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to count number of files in directories Post 302730595 by fretagi on Tuesday 13th of November 2012 09:20:20 AM
Old 11-13-2012
Script to count number of files in directories

Hi

its not working as it should be, because its giving me single digit values, but in reality those directory have more that 2 digit figures

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Get Count of all files in all the directories

Hello, I am looking for a way to get the TOTAL COUNT of the files present in all directories(sub directories) under the root directory..The files can be of any type viz. txt, doc, html, wav, jpeg etc. If it has an extension, it has to be counted.. I want to run the script from the root directory.... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: oniondosa
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK Script - Count Files In Directories

Hey, I'm very new to AWK and am trying to write a script that counts the number of files in all subdirectories. So, basically, my root has many subdirectories, and each subdirectory has many files. How can I get the total count? I haven't been able to figure out how to loop through the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: beefeater267
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count of files in directories

Hi, I have a requirement to find out the count of files in directories. I can do this very well by goind to each directory and then ls -lrt | wc -l. But I need to do it for hundreds of directories/sub-directories. I tried with this - for i in `ls -F | grep '/$'`; do `echo "$i"`| ls -lrt... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: unx100
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl script on how to count the total number of lines of all the files under a directory