Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Couple of questions wth grep/sort Post 302729613 by tastybeer on Saturday 10th of November 2012 04:01:11 PM
Old 11-10-2012
Couple of questions wth grep/sort

I have different things that I was trying to do but am kind of struggling with this since I'm a Linux noob. The backround is that I have two files with student names in the same directory, and each file lists the student name, their major and their grade level. What is the most efficient way to get a total count of students that are only enrolled in one class (listed only once) from these two files?

Initially I tried to get a count and pipe it out, but was at a loss as to how to get a count of the students only enrolled in one class, but this is where I am at now.

Code:
grep -c "Hist" HIS200 ART250 | sort

The second problem is I need to print the names of the senior history majors that are enrolled in both of these classes only printing their name once. I'm stuck on this one too, so I'm not sure if there is a better command I should be using? Here's where I'm at on that one:
Code:
egrep -i "HIST|SR" HIS200 ART200 | sort

. When I do this is just seems to return a list of all students in both classes so is there a way to egrep two different strings? Thanks in advance for any help or guidance you can provide!

JC

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 11-10-2012 at 05:40 PM.. Reason: code tags

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

Attn! A couple quick questions about Linux [Help]

Hi guys!! I was wondering if you can help me with a couple quick questions in order for me to understand it better... Any help would be appreciated and i would like to say thanks!! In advanced... Ok here goes... (I think these are pretty basic, but i just want to clarify) 1. What would be the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kyoist
2 Replies

2. Debian

A couple of grub questions.