Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Help with multiple profiles for lpar Post 302728917 by kah00na on Thursday 8th of November 2012 05:02:25 PM
Old 11-08-2012
Even though I doubt an LPAR would go down suddenly... Really, the only time the profiles are read is when the LPAR is shutdown (shutdown -F) and then restarted from the profile. Reboots (shutdown -Fr) do not re-read the HMC profiles. So in your scenario where your LPAR "goes down suddenly", which profile is read would depend on how the LPAR is started back up. If it reboots on its own, then neither profile is re-read. It stays in the same state that it was when it was originally booted. If you manually start it, then you will be choosing which profile is used.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

Terminal Services profiles

Hi guys i'm new in windows 2000 server so please bear with me. My quiestion is how can you remove all the icons and even the start menu using terminal services. I have a windows xp machine that is part of a domain i installed terminal services. I can login no problem but i want to be able to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: josramon
2 Replies

2. Linux

root profiles

DOES ROOT USER HAS A PROFILE? JUST LIKE .PROFILE FOR EVERY USER? i UNDERSTAND AS A SECURITY REASON THAT IS GENERALLY NOT AVAILABLE? DOES ANYBODY KNOW HOW IT IS A SECURITY THREAT? IF WE DONT HAVE A .PROFILE FILE, THEN WHENVER WE EXPORT A VARIABLE OR DO SIMILAR STUFF, IN WHICH FILE IS THAT... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: chakri.penguin
2 Replies

3. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

script to create multiple instances of a user account across LPAR's

My company has about 40 databases with each database in a different logical partition. Presently the SysAdmin person says it is necessary to create a user profile (login and password for each instance of databases on each LPAR. 1. Is it necessary that the user must be created in each LPAR? 2.... (1 Reply)