Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Sum of column matching pattern/string Post 302720793 by msabhi on Wednesday 24th of October 2012 03:58:24 PM
Old 10-24-2012
Hope this helps...
Code:
awk -F "|" '{array[$1]+=$2} END { for (i in array) {print i"|" array[i]"|"d}}' "d=$(date)" input_file

This User Gave Thanks to msabhi For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash script, pattern matching + sum

Hi guys, i have been struggling to achieve the following and therefor looking for some help. I am trying to write something that will summerize the following output from my switches for daily totals. Basicly if $1 $2 $3 doesnt change, we can keep adding up $4. Probably would use a awk print end... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Wratholix
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extracting a string matching a pattern from a line

Hi All, I am pretty new to pattern matching and extraction using shell scripting. Could anyone please help me in extracting the word matching a pattern from a line in bash. Input Sample (can vary between any of the 3 samples below): 1) Adaptec SCSI RAID 5445 2) Adaptec SCSI 5445S RAID 3)... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: jharish
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk pattern matching problem -not recognizing a column

Hi all, I am new to awk. I want to print the line numbers if the column has a particular value. For example I have: cat FILE1 COL1 COL2 X114 0 X116 0 X117 0 X120 0 X121 0 X125 0 X126 0 X127 0 X131 1 X132 0 X135 0 X136 0 (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: newpro
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Get matching string pattern from a file