Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Recursively cat files in a directory with filename printed first. Post 302719085 by Scrutinizer on Monday 22nd of October 2012 05:08:39 AM
Old 10-22-2012
Note: In standard form, find in combination with pipe and xargs will not work with filenames with spaces...
A loop will, but then a while read loop should be used instead of a for loop and the file references should have double quotes around them, for example..

Code:
find /etc -type f |
while read file
do
  [..]
  echo "$file"
  cat "$file"
  [..]
done

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 10-22-2012 at 06:43 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Recursively copy only specific files from a directory tree

Hi I am a shell-script newbie and am looking to synchronize certain files in two directory structures. Both these directory-trees are in CVS and so I dont want the CVS directory to be copied over. I want only .sh and .pl files in each subdirectory under these directory trees to be... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sharpsharkrocks
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

delete files recursively in the specified directory

I have to write a shell script which can delete all the files and directories recursively inside the specified directory but should not delete the specified directory. Please some body help me in writing the script. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: deepthi.s
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cat files from subdirectories output using same filename

Hi, I need to concatenate data files with a .mp extension that are stored in directories by year. I want to keep the same filename as an output for example: for the file name p030.mp, which resides in the following subdirectories: /2000/p030.mp /2001/p030.mp /2002/p030.mp I want to:... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: cmshreve
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting