Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting help understanding regex with grep & sed Post 302714695 by trogdortheburni on Friday 12th of October 2012 12:43:32 PM
Old 10-12-2012
help understanding regex with grep & sed

I have the following line of code that works wonders. I just don't completely understand it as I am just starting to learn regex. Can you help me understand exactly what is happening here?

Code:
find .  -type f | grep -v '^\.$' | sed 's!\.\/!!'

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep & sed question

I'm trying to write a bash script to perform a tedious task, but I have no experience and hardly any knowledge so I've been having a rough time with it. I'm on Mac OS X, and I want a script to do the following: I have a directory that has about 200 sudirectories. In each of these directories,... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: der Kopf
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed, grep, awk, regex -- extracting a matched substring from a file/string

Ok, I'm stumped and can't seem to find relevant info. (I'm not even sure, I might have asked something similar before.): I'm trying to use shell scripting/UNIX commands to extract URLs from a fairly large web page, with a view to ultimately wrapping this in PHP with exec() and including the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ropers
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Regex & grep-foo

I need a way to grep -v a list of times/date from the output of postqueue -p that are a few hours old, in order to remove them with postsuper -d. Right now I have a script that is deleting the previous day of messages left in the queue, which runs once each day. I want to clean up the job and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: DoneWithM$
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help Needed with grep & sed