Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Syntax Issue
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Syntax Issue Post 302711017 by Junaid Subhani on Friday 5th of October 2012 09:51:16 AM
Old 10-05-2012
I have already defined them . The issue that I am facing right now is how to call the variable within another variable .

$previous_tmp$i

$i is one variables that is being called within $previous_tmp$i.
when the value of i =0,
it should be
$previous_tmp1
which then calls the value stored in $previous_tmp1 that is 23 that i got using

previous_tmp1=`cat tmp1.txt`....

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Calculate scores and probability -- Syntax issue

Hi, I am totally new to C programming on Sun Solaris environment. I am an active member on the UNIX forum and a good shell programmer. I am trying to achieve some calculations in C programming. I have the pseudo code written down but don't know the syntax. I am reading a couple of books on C... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: madhunk
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

syntax issue in ksh file

Hi all, I am struck with syntax for long time, Need to purge some lines from given file Not able to use value of $x Example of ksh script... Facing some syntax issue. Have Tried ‘with single , double ,backtick “” ` and \ escape character , doesn't seem to work. <line 1> echo $x #... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: manav666
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help understanding syntax error Issue

Hi i as you may already know i am creating a menu driven program. I have chosen to take the approach of implementing each interface individually, after adding another interface and attempting to run the program i am faced with the following error: ./Assigntest: line 32: syntax error near... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: warlock129
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with a possiable syntax issue in my script