Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Merging multiple files using lines from one file Post 302704853 by iconig on Sunday 23rd of September 2012 09:44:41 PM
Old 09-23-2012
Yes you are right with the output file having 3001 columns and 3000 rows. I am interested in the correct matching of column 1 in the list with the first column from each other file. The output file is supposed to create the row and column in the order of the list i.e picking the lines that correspond to that in the list for all the b.files

---------- Post updated at 07:26 PM ---------- Previous update was at 07:25 PM ----------

I am not too experienced with the nested loop or if there is a better way to do this

---------- Post updated at 07:52 PM ---------- Previous update was at 07:26 PM ----------
Code:
for i in 'home/John/list'
do
      echo $i > fn.
for files in 'home/John/b*'
do
       echo $file > ffn
       paste fn1 ffn fnuse.temp
       cp fnuse.temp fnuse
     done
done

The $file are the b.4, b.5... ,b.3000 files

---------- Post updated at 09:44 PM ---------- Previous update was at 07:52 PM ----------

Please could anybody be of help? Thanks

Last edited by Franklin52; 09-24-2012 at 04:54 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags for data and code samples

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merging columns from multiple files in one file

Hi, I want to select columns from multiple files and combine them in one file. The files are simulation-data-files with 23 columns each and about 50 rows. I now use: cut -f 11 Sweep?wing-30?scale=0.?0?fan2?.txt | pr -3 | awk '{printf("\n%s\t%s\t%s",$1,$2,$3)}' > ../Data_Processed/output.txtI... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: isgoed
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Matching lines across multiple csv files and merging a particular field