Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting SH script, variable built command fails, but works at command line Post 302700997 by oly_r on Friday 14th of September 2012 02:11:51 PM
Old 09-14-2012
Corona i'm confused that the command works fine when entered at the command line.

Code:
./configure CC="gcc -m64 -mcpu=v9" ...

CRAPPPPPPP. i just realized i was using CC in the command line to pass and not letting the env variable to be executed. Thank you Corona you made me thing about the way CC and CFLAGS were set.

Code:
CC=`which gcc`; export CC
CFLAGS="-m64 -mcpu=v9"; export CFLAGS

This User Gave Thanks to oly_r For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

script works on command line, not in cron job

Hey there, I'm a total newbie unix guy here and just picking this stuff up. Have a very small script I put together that works fine from the command line but not once I put it in a cron job. Searched and found this thread and am wondering it it has something to do with setting variables, though the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: JackTheTripper
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cron job fails, but works fine from command line

I have a very basic script that essentially sends a log file, via FTP, to a backup server. My cron entry to run this every night is: 55 23 * * * /usr/bin/archive_logs The script runs perfectly when executed manually, and actually worked via cron for about three weeks. However, it mysteriously... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cdunavent
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Zgrep works at command line but not in script?

Hi all- I'm trying to search through some .gz log files to verify certain feeds have passed through our app. I have a small script that I wrote in hopes that I could automate the checking but haven't been able to get the zgrep to work. When I copy it to the command line directly it works... (2 Replies)