Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting ESC[70G[ and ^M characters in text file Post 302700579 by methyl on Thursday 13th of September 2012 05:00:13 PM
Old 09-13-2012
Further to @vbe, please always post what Operating System and version you are running, what database engine and version you are running, and what commands you (or the script) typed to produce the output presented.
This is an awkward one because the output presented is formatted for your terminal and is unsuitable for use as an email attachment.
One approach is to try to convert the output format. A better approach is to write code to output the results in a more useful format.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read text from a file between two characters..

I have a requirement where i have to read from a .sh file a text lying bet characters like 'SELECT' & ';'...Please help me out in this. I am new to shell scripting. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: goutam_igate
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove special characters from text file

Hi All, i am trying to remove all special charecters().,/\~!@#%^$*&^_- and others from a tab delimited file. I am using the following code. while read LINE do echo $LINE | tr -d '=;:`"<>,./?!@#$%^&(){}'|tr -d "-"|tr -d "'" | tr -d "_" done < trial.txt > output.txt Problem ... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: kkb
10 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with deleting characters from text file

I have a text file that looks like this: I want to delete the last character of first column in all rows so that my output looks like this: Thanks a lot! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: evelibertine
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Any way to get rid of ^M characters in a text file using pr?