Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Nohup and background jobs
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Nohup and background jobs Post 302699093 by pamu on Tuesday 11th of September 2012 06:09:12 AM
Old 09-11-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uinx_addic
My Query is still not answered.

If i only use & and my terminal gets hunged. will by job will continue or will be killed.

Ex : sh my_script.sh &
I think it should be killed...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

background jobs

Hi, i have a problem with turning a job into backgrund. When i enter this at the shell: spice -b darlington.cir -r output.raw > screenout.tmp & and then let me show the currently running jobs, i get the following output: + Suspended (tty output) spice -b darlington.cir -r output.raw >... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: qsi
4 Replies

2. Programming

Background jobs

Hi there, I'm quite new to UNIX for programming. I have a script that does this: Shows on screen real-time results taken from phone calls and logs them in a file. However, when I start my script, I want my script to start logging in the file in the background, so I can continue working on... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Jeremiorama
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

background jobs exit status and limit the number of jobs to run

i need to execute 5 jobs at a time in background and need to get the exit status of all the jobs i wrote small script below , i'm not sure this is right way to do it.any ideas please help. $cat run_job.ksh #!/usr/bin/ksh #################################### typeset -u SCHEMA_NAME=$1 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: GrepMe
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Notification from Background jobs