Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: how to cut based on a string
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers how to cut based on a string Post 302696743 by gvc on Wednesday 5th of September 2012 11:06:27 AM
Old 09-05-2012
how to cut based on a string

Hi I have some data where each line will look something like this:

Code:
Time, name, i.d number, RB: 0.9949; RMQA: 0.0005; RB: 0.9951; RRA: 0.3; RA: 0.995; RA: 0.996; EA: 0.99105

etc.

I want to cut out all the RB: and RA:'s with the numbers after.

so in the above example i'd be left with:

Code:
RB: 0.9949; RB: 0.9951; RA: 0.995; RA: 0.996

theres about 50 odd lines like this so I want to loop over them all.

Currently I'm trying

Code:
awk 'BEGIN { FS = "R[A|B]:" } { for (i=2; i <=NF; i++) printf "%s\n", $i }'

but its not working.

If possible I'd also like to include the time at the beginning of each line, which is in the format hh.mm.ss.000

I am a beginner to UNIX and do not have that much knowledge, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance Smilie

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Please use code tags next time for your code and data.

Last edited by gvc; 09-05-2012 at 12:38 PM.. Reason: code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Cut a Variable into sub variables based on a delimiter

Hello All, I am novice on Shell Scripting. Any help on this is highly appreciated. I have a variable $VARIABLE="$some1|$some2|$some3" I need sub variables $SUBVAR1,$SUBVAR2,$SUBVAR3 which must be equal to $some1 , $some2 and $some3 respectively. It works fine with $SUBVAR1 =... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: jingi1234
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cut based on Two Delimiters at one go