Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Creating textfile from arguments Post 302693427 by zaxxon on Wednesday 29th of August 2012 08:00:04 AM
Old 08-29-2012
Is this homework/classroom stuff?

Example with ksh as a start:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/ksh

STR=hejhopp
C=1
MAX=16

for E in $@; do
        while [ $C -le $MAX ]; do
                let C+=1
                print $STR$E
        done
        C=1
done

You can check the input with case/esac. Try it out and ask if you get stuck.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

plugging out value from a textfile

Hi, need some help from all of you as i'm a beginner in shellscript. Currently i have a textfile(filename.txt) with the below content: TOTAL: 30 RECORDS: 300 anyone one know how do i plug out the value of 30 and put into a variable(var1) and 300 into another variable(var2)?I'm coding using... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: snowfrost
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Textfile lesson

Tag allerseits Ich habe ein umfangreiches Script. Darin möchte ich zu Beginn ein textfile lesen. Den ersten Satz. Dann kommen mehrere Instruktionen und dann soll wieder gelesen werden. Den zweiten Satz. Etc. Ich kann also das herkömmliche while read xyz / do ... done nicht benützen. ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: lazybaer
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep with two arguments to arguments to surch for

Hello, is it possible to give grep two documents to surche for? like grep "test" /home/one.txt AND /home/two.txt ? thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Cybertron
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

creating printf statement using user arguments