Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Ubuntu error LD: undefined variable while changing shell from bash to csh Post 302693059 by Avinash Nayak on Tuesday 28th of August 2012 01:57:46 PM
Old 08-28-2012
error LD: undefined variable while changing shell from bash to csh

Hi,
i am a beginner in ubuntu. my default shell is bash. everytime i try to change the shell with command "csh", i get a message (probably an error message). after i get into c-shell, when i try to execute a c shellscript, then it showed the same message. any idea about what is this about or any links which will help me learn more about this stuff ?

avinash@ubuntu:~$ csh
LD: Undefined variable.
%

Thanks.

Regards,
Avinash

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash: "undefined variable" and pipe

Hi, haven't found anything about this through searching, so may be a new topic: when doing this: set -o nounset set -o errexit find . -name "*.lib" | while read library; do echo ${libary} done echo "after while" I expect the script to exit within the while loop (because of nounset and... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: nagaidhlig
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

different shell csh bash

I'm always having to work in the cshell, but occasionally want to run a command using bash. is that possible? I know I could write a shell script and call bash at the begining with #!/usr/bin/bash and then my command, is there another way? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ajp7701
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

undefined variable error

Hi all, Im using a script which contains read command.. the script works perfectly but when I alias the script it gave "undifined variable" after I enter the read command input (variable)... Does any one know why ? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: yahyaaa
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Variable value inconsistency on BASH and CSH