Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting file name shortening for multiple directories Post 302691557 by giseismology on Friday 24th of August 2012 08:37:06 PM
Old 08-24-2012
hi! thanks for the fast response.
the first example you gave wouldn't work because i need to shorten the file names in about 1500 different directories. hence i would like a program that can start at the first directory perform the code. move to the next directory, perform the code. move to the next, perform the code, and so on until it gets to the end of the list of directories.
in the second example you gave i'm not sure what "list_of_directories.txt" means or where i would find that. i'm very new to this whole bash thing so if you don't mind giving explanations that would be great!
as far as the code that i gave before (copied from an earlier thread), all it does is takes all of the files in a directory in which it is saved and shortens them to 30 characters and adds a 1 or 2 if some of the files have the same name after they've been shortened. so my end goal is to apply that code to files in many different directories so i don't have to go into each of the 1500 directories i have and run the code. thanks again for any help! hopefully that made sense?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving directories to new directories on multiple servers

Hi - I am new to unix scripts...I need to move several directories on multiple servers to new directories. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mackdaddy07
0 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Copy single file to multiple directories

Please help - I need to copy a single file to multiple directories. Dir structure: Parent_Directoy Filename1 Child_Directory1 Child_Directory2 Child_Directory3 Child_Directory4 .... So I need to copy Filename1 to all of the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kthatch
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting