Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Ambiguous redirect error and syntax error when using on multiple files Post 302688489 by Madhusudan Das on Sunday 19th of August 2012 12:30:40 PM
Old 08-19-2012
syntax Error on Multiple files

First of all thank you so much for helping me RudiC and Don Cragon,

I changed the " " to $(), and quoted '^-':
Before :
Code:
for i in "ls -l | grep ^- | awk '{print $9}'"

Now : for i in
Code:
 "ls -l | grep '^-' | awk '{print $9}'"

and put the ; before done on line 19th, I am a beginner for linux so don't know much about it but this script will sol the purpose I need to do with N number of files.
I exactly want to delete unwanted lines not having word "ASPRODUCTSUMARY" from a specific position 15th from any CSV file coming in as a result of
Code:
for i in "ls -l | grep '^-' | awk '{print $9}'"

Now I am getting error on line 12 after the file name as correctly being passed. The output of the script is as follows :
Code:
[madhu@devinfaav POPS]$ bash MCEASPRODUCTSUMMARY.sh
: command not found.sh: line 3: 
: command not found.sh: line 4: 
1400009823_RTBM_20120614_1715_0_0_0_002.MCESOLUTION `1400009823_RTBM_20120614_1715_0_0_0_002.MCESOLUTION' -> `UNPROCESSED/ASPRODUCTSUMMARY/1400009823_RTBM_20120614_1715_0_0_0_002.MCESOLUTION.CSV'
1400009823_RTBM_20120614_1715_0_0_0_00.MCESOLUTION `1400009823_RTBM_20120614_1715_0_0_0_00.MCESOLUTION' -> `UNPROCESSED/ASPRODUCTSUMMARY/1400009823_RTBM_20120614_1715_0_0_0_00.MCESOLUTION.CSV'
: command not found.sh: line 5: 
: command not found.sh: line 6: 
: command not found.sh: line 8: 
: command not found.sh: line 9: 
: command not found.sh: line 11: 
: No such file or directorye 14: 1400009823_RTBM_20120614_1715_0_0_0_00.MCESOLUTION.CSV
: command not found.sh: line 12: 
: command not found.sh: line 13: 
MCEASPRODUCTSUMMARY.sh: line 26: syntax error near unexpected token `done'
'CEASPRODUCTSUMMARY.sh: line 26: `echo "${prefix}$line"; done< "$file" > temp.CSV;

UPDATED SCRIPT:
Code:
#!/bin/bash