Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting String encryption and decryption Post 302688409 by karumudi7 on Sunday 19th of August 2012 05:17:17 AM
Old 08-19-2012
Question String encryption and decryption

Hello All,

There are so many questions on this and I didn't find any concluded answer.

I want to encrypt a string in the script, actually this is a password. I tried using openssl (I am a newbie to openssl), but it is generating a long one which we can't remember.

I want to encrypt the password and want to share it, so users can use that and my script needs to decrypt when the users enter it.

Any solutions, where I can generate small passwords (or equal length of original).

Thanks!

AIX 5.3

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

File Encryption and Decryption in UNIX.

Hello guys ! I have used "crypt <first> second" command to encrypt "first" to "second" file. i have assign a key for that of course. Now when i try to look content of "seocnd" file through "cat second" command, the file is encrypted and cannot be read which is according to plan. But when... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: abidmalik
3 Replies

2. Programming

Password encryption/decryption in flat-text files

Dear all, If anyone has some ideas for me how to tackle the following situation: Imagine a type of client-server application. The client application is started by a human operator with all the necessary LDAP/Kerberos in place. The server application is started automatically as a daemon process.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: domivv
2 Replies

3. Solaris

PGP encryption/decryption solaris 9

Hi Someone is going to send me a file that they have encrypted by PGP encryption on windows pc to my solaris 9 server. They will give me the pgp key to decrypt the file. How can I do this on solaris 9 Is there a tool installed by default to decrypt or do I need to install something to... (0 Replies)