Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: problem in binning the data
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting problem in binning the data Post 302688037 by vgersh99 on Friday 17th of August 2012 01:06:14 PM
Old 08-17-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RudiC
If you would like the bins to be different files called bin"n"_fruit, try this:
Code:
awk '{f=sprintf("%d", 1+$4/1000000); fn[f]="bin"f"_fruits"; print $2,$3,$4 >fn[f]}'

yielding
Code:
ls -1 bi*
bin11_fruits
bin1_fruits
bin2_fruits
bin3_fruits
bin6_fruits

Code:
 cat bin2_fruits 
grapes bananas 1000000
apples bananas 1999999

The number of simultaneously open files may be limited though; needs some error checking then.
close(fn[f]) after each write.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem of Data Loading....

i am studying a script which is used for data loading. it has functions which deletes all the existing data before loading and then loads new fresh data. but i am stuck up at function Replace into table ( col 1,col 2....) Does this signify All Inserts. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ankitgupta
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Please help !!!!Problem with data file

I have a 1 million record file and in there i have 580 bad records meaning like they were spread on to 2 lines and is making my process fail as it is expecting single line records. How can i correct this records spread into 2 lines into single line or how i can writer these records into a new... (34 Replies)
Discussion started by: dsravan
34 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sampling and Binning- Engineering problem

Hi everyone! Can you please help me with some shell scripting? I have an input file input.txt It has 3 columns (Time, Event, Value) Time event Value 03:38:22 A 57 03:38:23 A 56 03:38:24 B 24 03:38:25 C 51 03:38:26 B 7 03:38:26 ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Needhelp2
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

trimming and binning rows